cozy friday night at home is all I need

jaylee
2 min read1 day ago

--

embrace the quiet, savor the simple, and hit reset

credit: @createcalmness

It’s Friday night, and instead of dancing under the city lights, I’m curled up at home, living my best life. My friends texted me like, “Bruh, it’s Friday night, why are you staying home?” Honestly, it’s funny how shocked they are. But I mean, I’ve got my dog Asher curled up next to me, my favorite show ready to stream, and a quiet, cozy apartment that I pay a fortune for every month. I think I’ve earned this.

Let me paint the picture: me, in my pajamas, sipping hot chocolate like some kind of wise old hermit, while Asher snoozes away with his little paws twitching in dreamland. Outside, the world is loud and bustling, but here, it’s just peace. Sometimes, you need nights like these — alone, calm, and free of the chaos. It’s like hitting a reset button on life.

I get it. Going out can be fun. New experiences, laughing with friends, maybe even some good old-fashioned people-watching. But have you seen the prices lately? Going out these days is like a mini financial crisis waiting to happen. Drinks? Ridiculous. Entry fees? Insane. Then there’s Uber, the overpriced post-party snack run, and somehow, you end up paying $50 for fries at 3 AM. Tell me again why staying home isn’t the better choice?

And let’s not even start on bars or clubs. Lowkey, I hate them. There’s always that moment when the music is so loud you can feel your soul vibrate, and suddenly, you’re shoulder-to-shoulder with someone whose dance moves involve a lot of sweating… on you. No thanks. I’d rather keep my personal space sweat-free.

It’s funny, though. Society acts like the weekend is a social contract that requires you to go out and “live your best life.” But why does that always have to mean expensive drinks, aesthetic restaurants, and crowds? Sometimes, the best life is the quiet one. No FOMO (fear of missing out), no overpriced drinks, no awkward small talk — just me, my dog, and a blanket fort I constructed because, why not?

Staying in is underrated. It’s not about being antisocial; it’s about appreciating the little things. The quiet moments. The peace of not having to shout to be heard. The freedom to do absolutely nothing and still feel like you’re doing everything.

Happy Friday everyone!

--

--

jaylee

A girl in her 20s documenting her journey of growth and healing, one day at a time.